The Shirley Schools Governing Body Constitution

Shirley Infant School and Shirley Junior School will be governed by a single Governing Body known as the Shirley Schools Governing Body.

The Shirley Schools Governing body is a Local Governing Body of the Jefferys Education Trust (JET) and its delegated powers are defined in the JET Scheme of Delegation, which will be reviewed and updated by the JET Board from time to time.

As a minimum, the Shirley Schools Governing Body will consist of the following members

The Executive Headteacher of the Shirley Schools

The Head of School of Shirley Infant School

The Head of School of Shirley Junior School

Two Staff Governors elected by the staff employed at Shirley Infant School

Two Staff Governors elected by the staff employed at Shirley Junior School

Three non-staff Governors that are parents of a child at Shirley Infant School

Three non-staff Governors that are parents of a child at Shirley Junior School

Eight other non-staff Governors

Other Governors can be co-opted to the Governing Body to meet particular needs for skills within the Governing Body (such as the Head of Teaching and Learning), provided that the ratio of non-staff Governors to staff Governors is always equal to or greater than two-to-one (ie, there are at least two non-staff Governors for each staff Governor) and the number of Governors does not exceed 24.

The Governing Body will elect a Chair and a Vice Chair and these will both become Directors of JET, with one Director designated to represent each of the schools at the JET Board.

The Governing Body will meet at least twice in each academic year to set the strategic direction of the schools and to review the progress against the School Improvement Plans. The quorum for these meetings will be at least 50% of the members of the Governing Body, provided the non-staff members form a majority.

The 'day-to-day' work of the Governing Body will be performed in sub-committees that will meet on a more regular basis throughout the year and operate under terms of reference reviewed and agreed by the Governing Body.

January 2015