Skip to content ↓


Shirley Infant & Junior School Local Governing Body



Date appointed

Term of office

Relevant business interests

Peter Gould

Chair of Governors / Chair of Leadership & Personnel Committee


4 Years


Carolyn Fayle

Vice Chair of Governors / Chair of Teaching & Learning Committee / SEND Governor


4 Years


Cate Gregory

Headteacher, Shirley Infant School

N/A N/A None
Annette Hixon Headteacher, Shirley Junior School N/A N/A None
Sarah Horsfall Safeguarding Governor 10/12/2018 4 Years None
Stefan Bleeck

Premises and Health and Safety Governor

18/09/2017 4 Years None
Matthew Corkhill Well Being Governor 18/09/2017 4 Years None
Donna Dunford

Staff Governor (SIS)

10/12/2018 4 Years None
Hannah Lubbock-Smith Staff Governor (SIS) 10/12/2018 4 Years None
Martin Walker Governor 07/10/2019 4 Years None

Penny Collins

Clerk to the Governing Body      
Name Role at Resignation Date Appointed Date Resigned Relevant business Interests
James Hardy Governor



Alex Woodgate-Jones

Governor / Vice Chair Teaching & Learning Committee

30/09/2019 19/07/2021 None

Shirley Infant School and Shirley Junior School share a single Local Governing Body (LGB) that has responsibility for both schools.  Our aim is to improve outcomes for all children through the sharing of expertise, resources and facilities, as well as ensuring a seamless transition from Infant to Junior School.

The role of the Governing Body is to monitor, challenge and support the school at a strategic level. The full governing body usually meets once a term, focussing on a range of areas including standards, finance, safeguarding and strategic planning.  There are also two committees that meet every half term.

Shirley Infant School and Shirley Junior School are part of the Hamwic Education Trust, a Multi Academy Trust.  The Governing Body operates under its Scheme of Delegation and LGB Terms of Reference. Both these documents can be seen here.

Both schools are also part of the  Jeffreys Education Partnership which brings together local schools who are part of Hamwic Education Trust.

To contact the School Governors please e-mail: